Rejoice

Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice.

Philippians 4:4

                                   animations,boys,celebrations,horns,parties,party hats,persons,special occasions                                  

Rejoice.  What an exciting action!  But notice what Paul writes before the colon, always. Not when  its convenient. Not when things are going our way.  Always.  And then he repeats the command, “and again I say, rejoice”  What’s up with that? Did we not see it the first time? No,  like many passages in God’s word, repetition will help us remember that what was just said is something we don’t need to miss.

Now every word in the Bible is important but I sometimes forget what God is saying to me so … wait, did I just say “sometimes” ? I think a more appropriate word is “often” as in I often forget, take for granted, or just ignore what the Lord is telling me. I need to be reminded of His promises, His commands, and yes, even His Love. But back to today’s verse, Paul is telling me –Don’t stop rejoicing!

 When he wrote ” Pray without ceasing” in 1 Thessalonians 5:17  – Don’t stop praying!

“The Just shall live by faith”  Habakkuk 2:4, Romans 1:17, Galatians 3:11, Hebrews 10:38
Don’t stop believing! (That’s a catchy saying worth discussing, well may on a different “Journey”)

Do you see a pattern here? The Word of God is full of these, we just have to remember to apply them to our lives.

Today’s Plan of Attack: What is stopping us from always rejoicing or any other of His commands? Take time to see why He repeats His words to us. Look for the patterns.

 I write the words in this “devotional journal”   to encourage, energize and enable. It is my hope that these short posts will lift you up and maybe sometimes  give you a “chuckle” . I know I enjoy sharing them! I hope to write in this journal  every week from this point forward. Together, we can  (will) change the world. Remember, with Jesus in our corner, we are always in the majority!

About Michael

So who am I? Wait and see. You might just enjoy what you find out. I am a born again Christian, saved by grace. I would like to help change the world, but I need your help.
This entry was posted in The Christian Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rejoice

  1. iowamrs70 says:

    Thanks for refreshing this Born Again Believer. I love God’s Word. It is oxygen to me. Several years ago the Lord help me find this passage in His Word about His Word. Moses is speaking to Israel about God’s Word Det:32:47. “They are not just idle words for you–they are your life.” God’s Word is much more than encouraging words, it is much more than a book to be read, God’s Holy Word is to be consumed. The author of Psalm 119 knew that. I can’t exist on daily basis without it. Sometimes minute by minute. So many Christians would be living more of the abundant life promised if they could grasp this. Amen to everything you said. In Jesus name.

Leave a Reply

