Wow! Now what?

And Jesus saith unto him, I will come and heal him.

 The centurion answered and said, Lord, I am not worthy that thou shouldest come under my roof: but speak the word only, and my servant shall be healed.

 For I am a man under authority, having soldiers under me: and I say to this man, Go, and he goeth; and to another, Come, and he cometh; and to my servant, Do this, and he doeth it.

 When Jesus heard it, he marvelled, and said to them that followed, Verily I say unto you, I have not found so great faith, no, not in Israel.

Matthew 8:8-10

I like these verses because they are an excellent example of what true faith is all about. The centurion knew Christ’s power through His Father and made a simple request. Just speak the word.   Christ saw that this man had a “great faith” .  Jesus even was impressed that this faith was made manifest where he has not seen it before.  This man understood what faith is all about.

Now what about in our own lives? Do we understand the power of Christ to exhibit this same faith? I must admit that there are times in my everyday pathway when I just don’t understand why I am in certain situations. Yet in the Big Picture, I  trust and realize that everything will be fine. I will cross that bridge, climb that mountain,  drive in unfamiliar territories. I may not know what lies behind curtain number 2 but that’s OK. I understand that I am living on a need to know basis and there are things that are often best left unknown.  This is what faith means…and one day I will know and understand the reason.

Plan of Action:  Cherish those wow moments, but don’t be caught in the undertow of great expectations.  Everything has a purpose (I wrote that before in another post if you are keeping track) Keep the faith and you will not be disappointed.

About Michael

So who am I? Wait and see. You might just enjoy what you find out. I am a born again Christian, saved by grace. I would like to help change the world, but I need your help.
This entry was posted in The Christian Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

