What is our Reasonable Service?

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.

Romans 12:1

If you have followed the posts in this devotional journal, you will notice that discovering our True Purpose, is not what you can get out of life. It is mostly about what we can give to others, starting with the realization that without Christ, we are nothing. We cannot do good on our own because there is no “good” in us! It is only by accepting Jesus as the only true hope, that we can make any difference in this world. To many this just does not make any sense.  Paul writes that the rest of the world that does not believe that Jesus is Lord, will call the wisdom of God as foolishness.

For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. 1 Corinthians 1:18

But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.                         1  Corinthians 2:14

This leads to my question of what God expects from his children; our reasonable service to our Lord. It starts with our living sacrifice. Jesus paid the price for our sin by his Death. We must live by example so others will see come to the knowledge of the truth. We cannot save anyone, but we can and must plant the seed of Salvation and let the Holy Spirit take over and complete the mission.

We must present our bodies as holy. We (our bodies) are the temple, the dwelling place of the Holy Spirit. We can not defile it or can not serve its purpose.

Our body must be acceptable unto God. God has high expectations for us, he wants the best for all that we do. but if we choose to go against the basic principles that he has given us, how can we be deemed as acceptable. I am very grateful that when I stray from my path, I can turn (repent) and get back on the right course. God forgives and then forgets our sins as if we never committed them.

If we truly serve our Lord in Spirit and in Truth, with our whole heart, and not by just going though the motions, then the Lord will accept our reasonable service.

But is that it? I believe that this is just the beginning.

Plan of Attack: For most of my adult life, my life verse has been II Timothy 2:4-No man that warreth entangleth himself with the affairs of this life; that he may please him who hath chosen him to be a soldier.

We need  to go beyond what is expected of us and serve him to truly please him. We need to act more like soldiers in this time of war! There is no room for error when we are stationed on the front lines. We need to separate our lives with the world and become totally committed to the Cause for Christ.

Yes, this is easy to write, we know what is best. Do we really believe what is best? Do we truly trust God? I will fail in in my quest at times. I am not using all the weapons  or talents that God has given me. But Praise the Lord, He is still working on me, molding me and guiding me to stay on the straight and narrow path.  Am I up for the challenge?Sometimes, I am not. This attitude needs to change and by God’s Grace. and his everlasting love ,I will become stronger and more dedicated to his will.

About Michael

So who am I? Wait and see. You might just enjoy what you find out. I am a born again Christian, saved by grace. I would like to help change the world, but I need your help.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Warfare, The Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

