Finding Purpose in the Parables-The Prodigal Son

I am very excited about the future of this Devotional Journal. As I share my passion to better serve my Lord and Savior, I discovered that I can experience an AHA moment every day! So I want to share these moments with you my fellow readers and rejoice in all the blessings he has and is preparing to offer. As I continue to grow and become more aware of my own True Purpose, I know my life will be greatly altered as a result.

In one of my recent posts: I Will Never be Superman But I am Proud to be a Child of God.( https://truepurpose.wordpress.com/2013/12/07/i-will-never-be-superman-but-i-am-proud-to-be-a-child-of-god/) I discovered that the Word of God can really open your eyes to a greater understanding of who God is and our place in his Will. I always knew that the Bible is powerful but now I am beginning to understand how to capture this power to fulfill God’s purpose for my life.

So this week I am going to start a series on the Parables of Jesus starting with the Parable of  the Prodigal Son. Let’s first look at the short parables that proceed the Prodigal Son Parable in Luke 15:

And the Pharisees and scribes murmured, saying, This man receiveth sinners, and eateth with them.

 And he spake this parable unto them, saying,

What man of you, having an hundred sheep, if he lose one of them, doth not leave the ninety and nine in the wilderness, and go after that which is lost, until he find it?

 And when he hath found it, he layeth it on his shoulders, rejoicing.

 And when he cometh home, he calleth together his friends and neighbours, saying unto them, Rejoice with me; for I have found my sheep which was lost.

 I say unto you, that likewise joy shall be in heaven over one sinner that repenteth, more than over ninety and nine just persons, which need no repentance.

 Either what woman having ten pieces of silver, if she lose one piece, doth not light a candle, and sweep the house, and seek diligently till she find it?

 And when she hath found it, she calleth her friends and her neighbours together, saying, Rejoice with me; for I have found the piece which I had lost.

 Likewise, I say unto you, there is joy in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner that repenteth

Luke 15:2-10

Notice the pattern of these  parables. Something was lost,  a sheep and a coin and when it was found there was  a great celebration. Jesus compares both these instances to a sinner that repented. Notice also that the individual loss attracts greater attention than those that are not lost.  Both the act of repentance and attention to the individual play prominent roles in the Prodigal Son Parable. Let’s continue with verse 11:

  And he said, A certain man had two sons:

And the younger of them said to his father, Father, give me the portion of goods that falleth to me. And he divided unto them his living.

Luke 15:11-12

Some questions come up in my mind as the parable begins: Why would the father divide up “his living” to his two sons? Didn’t he realize that one of his sons would go on a spending spree and waste the money that was given to him? What was he thinking?

Well let’s think about this situation another way. The father knows his children very well but decides that its best that they learn life’s lessons on their own, whether it’s through wise decisions or by foolish actions. Isn’t  this is the same way God let’s us live our life? Sure, he warns us of evil, commands us to follow his laws, teaches us how to love and be loved, but as humans, do we always heed His counsel? No, not always. Yet God allows us to make our own mistakes however major or minor that they may be. And our mistakes and misfortunes are mostly a direct result of our own sin.

Tomorrow, I will continue this study and address the actions of the younger son.  Until then, it’s all good!

About Michael

So who am I? Wait and see. You might just enjoy what you find out. I am a born again Christian, saved by grace. I would like to help change the world, but I need your help.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

