Finding Purpose in the Parables-The Prodigal Son (Part 3)

And he went and joined himself to a citizen of that country; and he sent him into his fields to feed swine.

 And he would fain have filled his belly with the husks that the swine did eat: and no man gave unto him.

And when he came to himself, he said, How many hired servants of my father’s have bread enough and to spare, and I perish with hunger!

 I will arise and go to my father, and will say unto him, Father, I have sinned against heaven, and before thee,

 And am no more worthy to be called thy son: make me as one of thy hired servants.

Luke 15:15-19

The younger son was learning a hard lesson. Life was easier when he was with his father, but he did work. Yet he was not given anything. Even the swine were better off.  He hit rock bottom. In my last post, I mentioned that sometimes you have you go though and endure a storm before you can see the blessing.  Verse 18 starts “And when he came to himself”, the younger son was starting to realize that life really was better when he was back at home. But his thinking was that he would have to settle to be only a servant and not be the son anymore.

I John 1:9 states: If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. 

We are indeed not worthy to receive the blessings and grace from our Lord. But Jesus wants the best for us and will freely give to us the things that we do not deserve. The younger son did see a future, he knew he sinned and hoped for the best. We need to have this same positive outlook on life also and hope for the best. But know that we have a Just God who will meets all our needs!

In my next post, I will discuss the reaction of the father and the older brother when the prodigal son comes home.

About Michael

So who am I? Wait and see. You might just enjoy what you find out. I am a born again Christian, saved by grace. I would like to help change the world, but I need your help.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Finding Purpose in the Parables-The Prodigal Son (Part 3)

  1. A Servant says:

    Starting out is tough. There are a lot of blogs out there. I appreciated the post and wanted to let you know. Walk in the light my brother.
    A Servant

Leave a Reply

