Finding Purpose in the Parables- The Prodigal Son (Conclusion)

The younger son is about to see his life in a new light as we conclude this study of the Prodigal Son Parable. Last time he convinced himself that life was better at home. He was going to tell his father that he was no longer worthy to be his son but he would like to be his servant. Now think for a second and put yourself in the Father’s shoes. No matter what your children do, chances are forgiveness will take place. Let’s continue

And he arose, and came to his father. But when he was yet a great way off, his father saw him, and had compassion, and ran, and fell on his neck, and kissed him.

 And the son said unto him, Father, I have sinned against heaven, and in thy sight, and am no more worthy to be called thy son.

Luke 15:20-21

Do you think the Father thought that the son would come back? I do. I believe the father knew all about his son. Just as God the Father knows all about us. This is part of the true meaning behind this parable, The Father represent God. We are like the son. The son is already a child of God ,yet he was tempted by the “world” Does that ever happen to us? We are still sinners but praise God, if we are a child of God, we are covered by the Blood of Jesus.

 But the father said to his servants, Bring forth the best robe, and put it on him; and put a ring on his hand, and shoes on his feet:

 And bring hither the fatted calf, and kill it; and let us eat, and be merry:

 For this my son was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found. And they began to be merry.

 Now his elder son was in the field: and as he came and drew nigh to the house, he heard musick and dancing.

Luke 15:22-25

Jesus said ” In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.”  John 14:2 God only wants the best for us. He wants to always bless us with his grace. Yet sometimes he will give us something that we do not expect. The son came back. He did not get saved, he was already saved but he was cold instead of hot.

Then we see the elder son for the first time, He was thinking “What’s going on?”

And he called one of the servants, and asked what these things meant.

 And he said unto him, Thy brother is come; and thy father hath killed the fatted calf, because he hath received him safe and sound.

 And he was angry, and would not go in: therefore came his father out, and intreated him.

And he answering said to his father, Lo, these many years do I serve thee, neither transgressed I at any time thy commandment: and yet thou never gavest me a kid, that I might make merry with my friends:

 But as soon as this thy son was come, which hath devoured thy living with harlots, thou hast killed for him the fatted calf.

Luke 15:26-30

Have you ever said “Hey what about me?”  Did you ever feel jealous of another’s good fortune? Was the  older brother showing compassion  for his younger sibling at this moment  or was his reaction justified? Looking at the situation,it is easy to scold his harsh attitude but the Father does no such thing. He knows his sons well just as God knows our heart well.

Did you have any AHA moments? Please share your thoughts in the comment section Thanks!

It’ all good!

Michael

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Michael

So who am I? Wait and see. You might just enjoy what you find out. I am a born again Christian, saved by grace. I would like to help change the world, but I need your help.
This entry was posted in The Christian Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finding Purpose in the Parables- The Prodigal Son (Conclusion)

  1. kerbey says:

    This is one of my least favorite parables. If I were the elder son, I would be pretty miffed, too. This always reminds me of celebrities who get caught up in drugs and alcohol and go to rehab and then come out on the other side, and everyone celebrates their victory, and I think, “What about those who chose to stay clean in the first place? Who is dancing a jig for them?” He deserves at least 3/4 of that fatted calf. The other brother should be happy to get a bite at all. And I recognize that we are all that younger brother, but still…

  2. Michael says:

    Thanks for your comment! I use to think that there was nothing wrong with the bitterness of the older brother until I saw that he did not show any compassion at all to his Father or his younger brother. I do not think that he was truly serving his Father as he stated. I think he was just going through the motions and was displaying a “Lukewarm Attitude” (Jesus was very clear in the book of Revalations about being Lukewarm) I really do not know why I started with the Prodigal Son Parable but I do think it is often misunderstood…

Leave a Reply

