The Two Commandments

 And, behold, a certain lawyer stood up, and tempted him, saying, Master, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?

 He said unto him, What is written in the law? how readest thou?

 And he answering said, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind; and thy neighbour as thyself.

 And he said unto him, Thou hast answered right: this do, and thou shalt live.

 But he, willing to justify himself, said unto Jesus, And who is my neighbour?

Luke 10:25-29

These verses precede Jesus’ Parable of the Good Samaritan. However I don’t think Jesus would call this parable by this name. The Samaritan was a sinner like all of us and he was just doing what Paul would label “our resaonable service”  There are two points that I want to convey in this post before I explore the parable that follows this dialogue.

1. Jesus knows when he is being tempted and will not give us an answer that we expect.

2.We cannot truly follow the two commandments but if we love God, we must strive to obey them.

This certain lawyer was asking Jesus how he could “inherit” eternal life. Something that as sinners we cannot accomplish.  Jesus said in essence-Never sin and you will inherit eternal life. But the lawyer wanted to prove that he was a righteous man when he asked “Who is my neighbour?” I will look deeper into this parable in the next couple of days.

But the other point that I want to discuss regards the two commandments. Jesus said in Matthew 22 that of these two commandment hang all the law and the prophets.

Now if we really examine the first and great commandment we observe that our life and true purpose is to love God above all. Putting God first in all our actions, all the time. I must say that I would be a better servant if I my faith did not waiver. Often, I feel that my way is really his way. Often the Lord shows the error of my ways and slows me down so I can stop and really listen to what he is telling me. I need his discipline, his correction. Jesus loves me more that I will ever know while I am on the earth. One day, I will understand. But I do not need to dwell on it now. I just need to follow Him!

Plan of Attack: A wise man said you must plan the work, and then work the plan. God created his plan for us to work it. For as long as he requires my service. I hope to remain a faithful servant. Not by my own strength but though his Grace!

 

About Michael

So who am I? Wait and see. You might just enjoy what you find out. I am a born again Christian, saved by grace. I would like to help change the world, but I need your help.
This entry was posted in The Christian Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

